Full List Of South East States In Nigeria Currently | Viralworldlist

Full List Of South East States In Nigeria Currently

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

South East States In NigeriaList of South East States In Nigeria and their Geographic Location, Economic Profile, Occupation, Ethnic Profile and Local Government Areas (LGAs). Raw Materials Distribution in these States. Source


CREATION: Created 27th August 1991.

Capital: Umuahia

Major City: Aba, Osusu Aba, Uturu, Oro Arochukwu

GEOGRAPHIC PROFILE: Located in South-East of Nigeria, approximately at latitudes 40 40′ and 60 14′ north, and longitudes 70 10′and 80 east. Bounded in the North by Ebonyi State; bounded South and South West by Rivers; bounded East and South East by Cross River and Akwa Ibom States. It is bounded in the West by Imo and Northwest by Anambra. Land Area is 5,243.7 sq. km.

ECONOMIC PROFILE: Crude Oil, Gas production, and Agriculture.

OCCUPATION: Agriculture is the major occupation of the people of Abia State. This is induced by the rich soil, which stretches from the northern to the southern parts of the state. Subsistence farming is prevalent and about 70 per cent of the population is engaged in it.

ETHNIC  PROFILE: Igbos are 95% of the population; 1.19% (1991) National Population; 2,833,999 – 2006 (National Population Commission source); Official language – English; Local Language – Igbo

Local Government Area (LGA) – Aba North, Aba South, Arochukwu, Bende, Ikwuano, Isiala, Ngwa North, Isiala Ngwa South, Isiukwuato, Obi Ngwa, Ohafia, Osisioma Ngwa,Ugwunagbo, Ukwa East, Ukwa West, Umuahia North, Umuahia South and Umunneochi.

See Raw Materials Distribution In Abia State HERE


Capital: Awka
 Created on 27 August 1991

Major Cities : Onitsha and Nnewi, Ogidi, Obosi, Ihiala, Amichi, Uga

Geographic Profile: The State covers an area of 4,416sq km, has tropical rain forest vegetation, humid climate with a temperature of about 87F and a rainfall of between 152cm- 203cm. It is situated on rolling flat land on the eastern plains of the River Niger, the State has a population of 4,055,048 people, according to the 2006 census and it shares boundaries with Abia, Delta, Enugu, Imo and Kogi States.

Economic Profile: Natural gas, crude oil, bauxite, ceramic and has an almost 100 percent arable soil.

Occupation: Trading and handworks

Ethnic profile: The indigenous ethnic group in Anambra state are the Igbos (98% of population) and a small population of Igala (2% of the population) who live in the North Western part of the state.

Local Government Area (LGAs): Anambra State has 21 local Government Areas, as listed below:
Aguata; Awka North; Awka South; Anambra East; Anambra West; Anaocha; Ayamelum; Dunukofia; Ekwusigo; Idemili North; Idemili South; Ihiala; Njikoka; Nnewi North; Nnewi South; Ogbaru; Onitsha North; Onitsha South; Orumba North; Orumba South; Oyi.

See Raw Materials Distribution In Anambra State HERE


Creation: Created in 1996.

Capital : Abakaliki.

Major cities: Abakaliki, Afikpo, Onueke, Ishiagu, Ozizza

Geographic Profile: Latitude: 6° 15′ 18″ N, Longitude: 8° 05′ 55″ E; Land Area – 5,533 sq.kms.

Economic Profile: Mainly agricultural producing region. Produces rice, yams, solid minerals.

Occupation: Agriculture is the major occupation of the people of the state. It is a leading producer of rice, yam, potatoes, maize, beans, and cassava in Nigeria. Rice and yams are predominantly cultivated in Edda, a region within the state. Ebonyi has several solid mineral resources, including lead, crude oil, and natural gas

Ethnic Profile: Mainly Igbo speaking peoples but with a little non Igbo speaking; Official Language: English; Population – 1.7 Million.

Local Government Areas (LGA): Abakaliki, Afikpo North, Afikpo South, Ebonyi, Ezza North, Ezza South, Ikwo, Ishielu, Ivo, Izzi, Ohaozara, Ohaukwu and Onicha.

See Raw Materials Distribution In Ebonyi State HERE


Creation: Created 27 August, 1991.

Capital : Enugu.

Major Cities: Enugu, Agbani, Awgu, Udi, Oji-River, and Nsukka.

Geographic Profile: 6°30′N 7°30′E; Borders with Abia State and Imo State to the South, Ebonyi State to the East, Benue State to the North-East, Kogi State to the North-West and Anambra State to the West; Population of 3,267,837 ( 2006 National Population Census figure).

Economic Profile: Agriculture, Industries and Tourism. The State’s soil is good for cultivation of virtually all crops, it breeds livestock and the industrial, commercial investments and tourism potentials of the State are colossal.

Occupation: The state is predominantly agricultural with yarn, palm produce and rice being their main produce. There is in place an agricultural policy aimed at maximizing its agricultural potentials.

Ethnic Profile: Mainly Igbo-speaking people. Major cities – Agbani, Awgu, Udi, Oji-River, and Nsukka.

Local Government Area (LGA) : Aninri, Awgu, Enugu East, Enugu North, Enugu South, Ezeagu, Igbo Etiti, Igboeze, North, Igboeze South, Isiuzo, Nkanu East, Nkanu West, Nsukka, Oji River, Udenu, Udi and Uzo Uwani.

See Raw Materials Distribution In Enugu State HERE


Creation: Created February 3, 1976

Capital: Owerri

Major Commercial City: Owerri

Major Cities: Okigwe, Oguta, Nkwerre, Orlu, Mbaise, Mbano, Mbieri, Ideato, Awo-Idemili, Ohaji,

Geographic Profile: Imo State lies within latitudes 4°45’N and 7°15’N, and longitude 6°50’E and 7°25’E with an area of around 5,100 sq km. It is bordered by Abia State on the East, by the River Niger and Delta State on the west, by Anambra State to the north and Rivers State to the south. Besides Owerri, Imo State’s major towns are Isu, Okigwe, Oguta, Orlu, Mbaise, Mbano, Mbieri, Orodo and Orsu.

Economic Profile: The State is rich in natural resources including crude oil, lead, zinc, white clay, fine sand, limestone and natural gas in commercial quantities. The state also produces agricultural produce such as palm produce, cocoa and rubber. The main staple crops are yam, cassava, cocoyam and maize.

Ethnic Profile: Imo state is a predominantly Igbo speaking state, with Igbo people constituting a majority of 98%.

Local Government Areas (LGAs): Imo State is made up of 27 Local Government Areas: Aboh Mbaise; Ehime Mbano; Ezinihitte; Ideato North; Ideato South; Ihitte/Uboma; Ikeduru; Isiala Mbano; Isu; Mbaitoli; Ngor Okpala; Njaba; Nkwerre; Nwangele; Obowo; Oguta; Ohaji/Egbema; Okigwe; Onuimo; Orlu; Orsu; Oru East; Oru West; Owerri Municipal; Owerri North; Owerri West.

See Raw Materials Distribution In Imo State HERE


  • Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?

  • Hey there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

Leave a Comment

error: Hey! Share this post, before you copy